The Shape Shifting Man: Part 1

About a week ago I was at an event eating dinner when I heard a familiar voice. I had never met this disembodied voice but I knew it very well. I’d seen him over 100 times- in a rather obscure film. Well, obscure to some and loved by others.

I turned to my right and with exaggerated hand gestures, I knew it was him. The Shape Shifting Man from Waking Life was suddenly sitting next to me.

e57c46b650446e6a3c18a7461f2ffc59

“This is so very random,” I thought to myself, “What are the chances?”

Given the essence of Waking Life and it’s thought provoking nature- I can’t help but to think to myself that this is some sort of destiny situation. Originally, my friend and I weren’t even suppose to be sitting at that table, we had in fact been assigned to a table that was already full.

Either way, I knew at that moment, I had to say something. So…

“Excuse me,” I politely interjected, “You’re voice and mannerisms sound and look very familiar to me.”

“Well,” he began slightly proud with a hint of bashfulness, “I was in one movie.”

“Waking Life?” I asked, despite already knowing the answer.

“Yes. I’m sorry for that.”

“Don’t be. It’s my favorite film.”

Holy cow. I was nerding out at that very moment. We began to discuss what brought him to LA. See, he was not from Los Angeles and lived firmly in Austin, Tx still and was at that event because his lovely wife brought him there.

I repeat, “What are the chances?”

So, I geeked out for a bit- totally keeping my calm. We spoke about SxSW and how the locals have mixed feelings on the event. He then told me that Richard Linklater (for those that don’t know- he directed Waking Life, Dazed and Confused and most recently Boyhood- and is one of my favorite filmmakers) was a judge at SxSw. In fact, they were doing a private screening of Boyhood when he got back to town.

The moment I heard his voice, I knew the Linklater connection but I didn’t want to treat someone as a “connection”, this man, a professor of chemistry, had his own identity and a lot I could probably learn from.

Never the less…he went on how I should email him and get in touch about #30Nods.

Well…of course I will.

Duh.

Some have said that there was or is a certain amount of magic attached to my film. There was magic on set, there was love on set, there were tiny miracles on set…and this interaction, this chance meeting…perhaps it is more magic.

For:

Dreams are destiny.

Published by: Craig Wilson

Craig has been an event coordinator, filmmaker and been enthusiast since the late 90's. Currently programming film festivals and studying to become a certified beer judge he plans on marrying his skills as an event coordinator, filmmaking and growing beer knowledge.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

